Task 2: Online Forums

mgs
What is the topic of the forum and why did you chose it?

I have changed my choice of forum from the first idea that I had because I was unable to get the forum to work, so instead I joined a forum called My German Shepherd because it was giving information about the dogs, and I recently got one and my mum wanted some information about them. So I thought this was a good way because the people on this website own/ have owned that breed of dog and so they know what they are doing and will know the answer to most of your questions.

I also chose it because it is something that I am interested in at the moment as I like the breed of dog, and I want to know more about how to look after her because she is going to be one of my responsibilities.

Topics/Thread Discussions

  • Dogs Health
  • Dog training information
  • Dog food advice and information
  • FAQ/New dog owner information
  • Introduce yourself
  • Memorial Tributes
  • Lost dogs
  • Dog advice

This is a list of the topics that are being discussed, but inside these topics there are people asking different questions and wanting various different little bits of information that will go into more detail. As there are different things that different people want to know, but once it has been answered once, then people that go on there that might want to know that same thing will then be able to read the already created thread without having to wait for people to reply to them if they make one themselves.

Rules and Regulations

The rules and regulations of the forum are as follows:

“Registration to this forum is free! We do insist that you abide by the rules and policies detailed below. If you agree to the terms, please check the ‘I agree’ checkbox and press the ‘Register’ button below. If you would like to cancel the registration, click here to return to the forums index. Although the administrators and moderators of My German Shepherd Forum will attempt to keep all objectionable messages off this forum, it is impossible for us to review all messages. All messages express the views of the author, and neither the owners of My German Shepherd Forum, nor vBulletin Solutions, Inc. (developers of vBulletin) will be held responsible for the content of any message. By agreeing to these rules, you warrant that you will not post any messages that are obscene, vulgar, sexually-oriented, hateful, threatening, or otherwise violative of any laws. The owners of My German Shepherd Forum reserve the right to remove, edit, move or close any thread for any reason.”

The main rule for this forum is not to post anything;

  • obscene
  • vulgar
  • sexually oriented
  • hateful threatening
  • violative of any laws

These rules are important because people need to treat others with respect and even more so because they are on the internet and you can be done for libelist behaviour.

Who are the moderators?

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 22.31.32

This is the list of moderators on the MGS (My German Shepherd) forum. They watch over what is being posted on the topics and the threads to make sure that no one is saying something that is breaking the rules of the forum.

Topic that interests me

Under the pictures forum there are posts that people are making with pictures of there dogs doing things that might be cute or interesting to other users of the forum to get them talking about their dogs. Some of the threads that people are making are of their puppies how they have changed as they have gotten older, or their dogs in their first snow, or even how they have covered themselves in mud. This interests me because I like to look at other peoples dogs because I think that some of the pictures that are put on there are really cute. foruminfo

My Forum Posts

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 15.47.41These are the two threads that I started myself, I did this because I was told that you are supposed to introduce yourself when you join a forum, and as you can see people have replied to both of my posts and people have viewed it too.

I have also commented on other peoples threads.

One the ‘big softie’ thread that I made, I posted a picture of my dad playing with our German Shepherd puppy and said how he would say he didn’t do it because I thought that it was funny. So people have been commenting say how cute and that the dog is because of how she is looking at my dad, etc.

Also on the ‘Hello’ thread people wer saying hello to me and welcoming me to the forum, these people could be from all over the world, and I don’t know any of them, but they were all welcoming me and trying to let me know that it is okay to talk to them.

Screen Shot 2013-01-29 at 21.47.31 This is a comment that I replied to from someone that posted on my thread. They haven’t come back with another message, but they did start the conversation with me.

forum thingforum thin

Again these are more comments that I posted and other people replied to because I had created my own thread. I don’t know any of them apart from my dad that was on there.

Leave a Reply

